This is a past event. Please join us for the upcoming conference.
UTIC-2016: June 10–12, 2016. Dnipropetrovsk region, Ukraine
ru uk

Oksana Tkach

Localization specialist at BlaBlaCar

I specialize in localizing websites, applications, software, interface etc. At the moment I am working to expend my expertise to localization engineering and computational linguistics. I am interested in machine translation and translation technologies.
Before my senior year studying translation at Lviv Franko University, I started working at the localization department of Linguistic Centre. Now I work as localization specialist and linguist at BlaBlaCar, and also freelance for several other companies.
In 2015 at the annual Translating Europe Forum organized by the European Commission, I shared my personal story on starting a career in translation and localization.

Localization of the BlaBlaCar website: Fun and Serious or The pros and cons of small-scale localization projects

Have you ever changed the language of a good website to English because the translations were so cringeworthy? Or maybe you regularly notice dry, robot-like translations from big IT corporations. Having seen both sides of the coin, I’ll attempt to explain why this happens, showcase my private collection of localization fails and shed some light on the eternal question: do you really need a professional to translate your website?

Это сайт прошедшего мероприятия. Присоединяйтесь к предстоящей коференции!
UTIC-2016: 10—12 июня 2016 г., Днепропетровская область
uk en

Оксана Ткач

Специалист по локализации, компания BlaBlaCar

Я специализируюсь в локализации веб-сайтов, приложений, программ, интерфейса и пр. В данное время я работаю над расширением своей специализации на инженерию локализации и компьютерную лингвистику, а также интересуюсь машинным переводом и технологиями перевода.
Ещё на четвёртом курсе учёбы на кафедре перевода во Львовском национальном университете им. И. Франко, я начала работу в отделе локализации компании «Лингвистический центр». Сейчас я специалист по локализации в компании BlaBlaCar, где перевожу веб-сайт и приложения, также сотрудничаю с несколькими другими переводческими компаниями.
В 2015 году я поделилась собственным опытом начала карьеры в переводе и локализации на ежегодном форуме Европейской комиссии Translating Europe Forum.

Локализация веб-сайта BlaBlaCar: плюсы и минусы небольших проектов по локализации

Приходилось ли вам когда-либо менять язык хорошего сайта на английский, потому что резал глаз неуклюжий перевод? Может быть, вам регулярно встречаются сухие, будто машинные, переводы на сайтах крупных IT-корпораций. Побывав на обеих сторонах баррикад, я попробую объяснить, почему подобное случается, покажу свою коллекцию ляпов в локализации, и пролью свет на извечный вопрос: можно ли обойтись без профессионала в переводе сайтов?