UTIC-2016: June 10–12, 2016. Dnipropetrovsk region, Ukraine
ru uk

Joseph Kovalov

Freelance translator, expert in marketing texts translation

For 14 years in professional translations, Joseph worked both as an in-house translator and manager of his agency, before some eight years ago he set up his own freelance business. Joseph specialises in marketing translations, transcreation and copywriting. His end clients are both prominent international brands producing consumer goods and small boutique companies providing tailor-made services. Joseph blogs on marketing translation and actively participates in LSP communities’ life sharing expertise with others via publications, webinars, and training. He takes part in conferences as attendee and speaker (UTIC 2013 and 2014, Regional ProZ.com Conference in Kharkiv, 2016 ITA Conference in Jerusalem).

At UTIC-2016, Joseph is a moderator of the track «The Art of Translation».

A translator's backpack

Any translators’ meetup is a source of useful advice to each other, experience exchange, and hacks, ready for use the very next day.
Usually, these topics are discussed privately, and the helpful hacks remain available to a small group of people, who decided to have some coffee together (or not just a pint of coffee) and inevitably wandered into work-related issues in their small talk. That’s not fair!

UTICamp is completely different from a traditional conference, it’s more like an open-air translators’ meetup. So we suggest bringing lobby talks into the open. We’ll discuss hacks and tricks that may help every translator on their professional journey.

We’ll talk about everyday routines, workflows, tools, self-promotion, money matters, and various challenges we face. Everyone will have an opportunity to say something on these topics and to put an idea into the translator’s backpack. A newbie input will be as useful as an eye-opener from a seasoned traveller.

Come to have a talk with your friends at a lifehack session, The Translator’s Backpack. Free up your time for even more songs and chatter by the fire!


Moderators: Tetyana Struk & Joseph Kovalov
Speakers: Irina Lebedeva, Olesya Zaytseva & Vatslav Yehurnov
Participants: you

Unlost, or Survivors

This year, UTIC will be held in a non-conventional format, which calls for non-conventional ideas and approaches. After a brain storm, we have arrived at an island. Or rather at a decision to offer one of the sessions as a reality show unfolding on an imaginary island.

The past two years have been tough for us. Seasoned professionals are concerned about shrinking markets, machine translation that is getting smarter by the day, and the daring younger generation who seem to be close on their/our heels. The daring young linguists, in their turn, feel that it’s hard to compete with more experienced colleagues who have been around for more than a dozen years.

The desire we all share is to survive, to stay afloat, and to save our ships from sinking to the bottom of the stormy seas.

This is what the show is about. We are going to stand up to the threats and challenges facing us and work out strategies to survive and prosper in this dangerous world.

Welcome to our session! It’s going to be hot. And we will survive!

Moderators: Tetyana Struk and Joseph Kovalov

Experts: Oleg Rudavin and Svetlana Svetova

The participants: all or you

The public: the lot of you

UTIC-2016: 10—12 июня 2016 г., Днепропетровская область
uk en

Иосиф Ковалёв

Переводчик-фрилансер, специалист по переводу маркетинговых текстов

За 14 лет в индустрии профессиональных переводов Иосиф работал как штатным переводчиком, так и руководителем собственного агентства, пока 8 лет назад не ушел во фриланс. Иосиф специализируется на маркетинговых переводах, творческой адаптации и копирайтинге. Его конечные заказчики — и крупные международные производители товаров широкого потребления, и небольшие бутиковые компании, предоставляющие индивидуальные услуги. Иосиф ведет блог на тему маркетинговых переводов и активно участвует в жизни переводческих сообществ, делясь опытом через публикации, вебинары и тренинги. Он принимает участие в конференциях как участник и докладчик (UTIC-2013 и 2014, Региональная конференция Proz.com в Харькове, конференция ITA-2016 в Иерусалиме).

На UTIC-2016 Иосиф модерирует секцию «Искусство перевода».

Рюкзак переводчика

Любые неформальные посиделки переводчиков — это кладезь полезных советов друг другу, обмен опытом, рекомендации, которые можно применять на практике уже на следующий день.

Как-то несправедливо, что все эти разговоры ведутся в кулуарах, и все эти полезности остаются среди небольшой группки людей, которые вообще-то собрались попить кофе (ну или не только кофе), а беседа неизбежно свернула к разговорам о работе.

Поскольку UTICamp — совсем не конференция в привычном формате, а скорее большие посиделки переводчиков, мы предлагаем перенести кулуары в зал и поговорить о том, что нам пригодится в профессиональном путешествии.

Мы будем говорить о том, с чем мы сталкиваемся каждый день, о процессе работы, инструментах, рекламе своих услуг, о денежных вопросах и решении разных проблем. Тут каждому есть что сказать и положить в рюкзак переводчика, и советы опытных путешественников будут полезны так же, как и советы новичков, которые двигаются нехожеными тропами.

Приходите поговорить о работе со своими друзьями на лайфхак-сессию «Рюкзак переводчика», тогда у костра останется больше времени на песни и душевные разговоры о жизни!


Ведущие: Татьяна Струк и Иосиф Ковалёв
Эксперты: Ирина Лебедева, Олеся Зайцева и Вацлав Егурнов
Участники: вы

Остаться в живых

Нестандартный формат UTIC в этом году требует нестандартного подхода к сессиям, и одна из них будет организована в формате реалити-шоу.

Последние пару лет были не самыми легкими для нашей профессии: падают объемы работы, на пятки наступает машинный перевод, в спину дышит молодое предприимчивое поколение, а молодежи, в свою очередь, нелегко конкурировать с коллегами, чей опыт в резюме обозначается двузначными цифрами.

И всем нам хочется остаться в живых, не споткнуться, не пойти ко дну.

Именно с этими опасностями реальной жизни мы и будем бороться на нашем шоу «Остаться в живых».

Приходите — будет интересно!

Ведущие: Татьяна Струк и Иосиф Ковалёв

Эксперты: Олег Рудавин и Светлана Светова

Участники: вы