UTIC-2016: June 10–12, 2016. Dnipropetrovsk region, Ukraine
ru uk

UTIC-2016 Results

The Third Ukrainian Translation Industry Conference took place on June 10–12, 2016. On this occasion, it was held in an unusual venue for an event of this kind — in a former children’s sport and fitness camp that is now known as the Meteorite camping site, in the village of Orlivshchyna in Dnipropetrovsk region.

Hans Fenstermacher,
COO at United Language Group, moderator of the Business of Translation track
"The atmosphere is so much more relaxed and friendly, and much more social, and engaging. So I’m very-very happy. I think this is a fantastic event."

The venue dictated the new conference format and its updated title "UTICamp". The participants lived in tents at the campsite; the talks were given in the summer cinema and in special marquees, surrounded by the pleasant rustling of pine trees, and everyone had the opportunity to go swimming in the river or rest on the beach.

Inga Michaeli,
freelance translator
"This is a novel experience for me. I’ve never had a conference in a wood. I’ve been to a lot of conferences all over the world, organized some in Israel. And it’s never been in such a beautiful location."

UTIC-2016 was attended by participants аnd presenters from 11 countries: Ukraine, Russia, Belarus, Israel, Romania, Italy, Spain, Luxembourg, the Unitеd States and even India, making it a truly international event.

Numbers

The first UTICamp participants arrived in Dnipro (formerly Dnipropetrovsk) on Friday June 10, in order to set off on a fascinating tour around the city. The guests of "Ukraine’s space capital", as Dnipro is so often called, saw its historical, cultural and scientific sights and were introduced to its new architectural style and famous fountains.

On Friday afternoon, there was also a training course by Elena Chudnovskaya, entitled "Get a Job. Get a Life. Soft Skills of an Interpreter". The course participants discussed the ethics of professional relationships, dealing with clients, international standards and even vocal hygiene — an important issue for all interpreters.

In the evening, everyone gathered in Meteorite for the welcoming buffet, where they chatted with colleagues and enjoyed a drink and something to eat, as well as a wonderful sunset on the bank of the Samara River.

The official part of the UTIC-2016 programme began with the opening ceremony. The first welcome address was by Stanislav Kalenyuk, CEO of InText, the organizer of the UTIC conference. Stanislav thanked the participants and moderators for supporting the event and wished everyone a profitable and most enjoyable conference.

There were also words of welcome from representatives of the UTIC sponsor companies: Leonid Glazychev, CEO from Logrus IT, Svetlana Svetova, head of Т-Service and moderator of the Translation and Localization Technologies section, Viktoriya Alekseenko from Language Solutions Pro, Olena Kirsanova, CEO of translation company Aspect, Tatyana Struk, CEO of Linguistic Centre and moderator of the Art of Translation section, and Hans Fenstermacher, Chief Operating Officer at United Language Group and moderator of the Business of Translation section.

During the opening ceremony, Hans Fenstermacher also gave a paper on the skills and competences required by translators in the past, present and future — a topic that was then taken up by Kimmo Rossi. Head of Research and Innovation in Department G.3 Data Value Chain of the European Commission. He spoke about the future of translation and the place of technology in that future.

Marco Trombetti, CEO of Translated, devoted his speech to machine translation systems and explained why machines cannot and must not entirely replace people.

On Day 1 of the conference there was also a contact exchange session — a special event in which the participants introduced themselves to one another in groups, exchanged cards and discussed opportunities for collaboration. Everyone who attended the contact exchange took part in a lottery for a ticket to the next UTIC. And in fact there were two lucky winners: young fiction translators Anatoliy Pityk and Kateryna Hrytsaichuk.

A central place at UTICamp was given over to the exhibition zone, where companies and conference delegates set up their stands. These included Logrus, Language Solutions Pro, Crowdin, Synkhroservice, InText and the art group Patchwork Quilt, at whose stand one could acquire a book of the same name.


As is traditional, the conference programme consisted of three streams: The Art of Translation, The Business of Translation, and Translation Technologies and Localization. This year saw a record number of presentations: 36 papers and 8 round tables and interactive sessions.

Joseph Kovalov,
freelance translator, moderator of the Art of Translation track
"As the format is new, unusual; it lends itself to closer communication. We wanted to make it more informative and less formal, so that the translators who came here could take back with them some useful practical knowledge that they can put into practice at home tomorrow."

The presentations by speakers in the Art stream covered the work of in-house translators and freelancers, oral and written translation, translating fiction and negotiations, and working in international organizations. The attendees were particularly pleased by the large number of practical presentations containing valuable advice that they could put into practice immediately.

A survey of the conference delegates showed that the most popular presentations by far were "A Translator’s Backpack" (Vadim Kadyrov, Vatslav Yehurnov, Irina Lebedeva and Olesya Zaytseva), and "Go Edit, or Real Life Challenges of Editing Russian Marketing Texts Translated from English" (Ekaterina Filatova, Roman Bulkiewicz).

The Translation Technologies and Localization stream this year was largely devoted to translation quality and the software used to achieve it. The participants were very positive on a presentation by Olga Prokopchuk and Mariya Malykhina on the tools available to freelancers for efficient project work, and a joint presentation by T-Service, Palex and InText on automated control of translation quality. The respondents were also impressed by Konstantin Dranch’s extensive presentation on how Big Data from cloud "сats" could impact the industry.

Speakers in the Business of Translation section talked about managing translation agencies, company promotion and sales, and staff training. The highest scores were given to presentations by Yuri Tsverkun — "How to make customers pay more", and Hans Fenstermacher — "What’s your company worth". This stream was the one with the largest number of round tables.

As usual, the first day of the conference ended with a gala evening, held in the restaurant on the river bank. Guests were treated to a variety of snacks and dishes prepared on the barbecue, while being entertained by professional singers who had put together a special programme for the event. The evening was made even more enjoyable by performances from the conference participants themselves.

Representatives of InText performed the lyrical Ukrainian folk song "Oh, in the Cherry Orchard", before their initiative was taken up by other conference delegates: Oleg RudavinVatslav Yehurnov, Yevgen Lobanov, Alexey Pylov and Leonid Melnikov sang "The House of the Rising Sun" by The Animals. And the evening was rounded off by a song in Hindu from Suman Arora, a translator from India.

T-Service, which sponsored the gala evening, generously handed out prizes to the participants for taking part in the quiz, including souvenir T-shirts, flash drives and even a SDL Trados Studio 2015 licence. Meanwhile, the Wi-Fi sponsors — the developers of the Verifika software — presented the participants with five licences for their product.

Because of the unusual format of this event, participants were able to bring their spouses and children with them. To allow the parents to concentrate fully on the presentations and interaction with colleagues, the children were looked after by specialists from the Little Beetle centre — UTICamp’s animation partners. Over two days, the children enjoyed educational games and sport, made drawings and prepared simple meals.

The UTICamp closing ceremony included the traditional lottery for a ticket to the next conference. The winner was Olga Romanyuk, a freelance translator from Lviv. A further three tickets were put up for raffle by Logrus, UTIC-2016’s platinum sponsor. The lucky winners were Nadiya Korolyak from EOS translation company, and Olena Movchan and Vitaliy Platkovskiy from Philin.

A survey was conducted during the conference on the level of satisfaction with the way it was organized, with input received from half of the participants. 6.58% of the respondents judged the level of organization to be "good", while 93.42% chose "excellent". 71% said they had already decided to take part in the next conference, with 7.63% indicating this was "possible".

Marco Trombetti,
CEO Translated
"I didn’t expect that level of knowledge, of commitment to the work that I met here. I found many new friends, but also many new possible colleagues."

The UTIC Organizing Committee wishes to thank Elena Chudnovskaya for organizing the simultaneous interpretation during the conference, as well as the entire team of interpreters: Alina Bilushenko, Aryna Lepetukh, Iryna Skopina, Maksym Kozub, Yevgen Lobanov, Anna Oliynyk, Victoria Moroz, Vadim Iermolenko, Alexandra Yatsyna, Alexandra Komarova, Olga Novikova and Marina Myntsykovska. A separate vote of thanks goes to Dmytro Khryzhanivskiy, head of Synkhroservice, which provided technical support for the simultaneous interpretation of the UTIC events for the third time.

View the official photo report of the conference on Flickr

In the course of 2015 and 2016, the UTIC team organized webinars with the UTIC presenters and other industry experts. A new series of webinars began on July 14 — keep an eye on the announcements on our social network pages.

Starting in August of this year, we will be posting one video recording of the presentations every week on the conference website. Anyone who would like to see all 44 presentations from leading industry experts straight away can get early access to the UTIC-2016 video archive by writing to info@utic.eu.

The next UTIC conference is scheduled for the summer of 2018. The organizers are exploring the option of a week-long trip to the countryside in the UTICamp format.

UTIC-2016: 10—12 июня 2016 г., Днепропетровская область
uk en

Итоги UTIC-2016

Третья Украинская конференция переводческой отрасли состоялась 10—12 июня 2016 г. На этот раз она прошла в необычном для таких мероприятий месте — на территории бывшего детского спортивно-оздоровительного лагеря, а ныне кемпинг-парка «Метеорит» в поселке Орловщина Днепропетровской области.

Ханс Фенстермахер,
операционный директор компании United Language Group,
модератор потока «Бизнес перевода»
«Тут просто великолепно! Мне кажется, атмосфера здесь намного более расслабленная, дружеская, располагающая к общению, вовлекающая. Я очень рад, я думаю, что это потрясающее мероприятие».

Место определило новый формат конференции и ее обновленное название — UTICamp. Участники конференции останавливались в палаточном городке прямо на территории лагеря, доклады проходили в летнем кинотеатре и в специальных больших палатках, вокруг приятно шумели сосны, можно было купаться в речке и загорать на пляже.

Инга Михаэли,
переводчик-фрилансер
«Для меня это совершенно новый опыт, я никогда не была на конференции в лесу. А я побывала на множестве конференций по всему миру и даже организовала несколько в Израиле. Никогда еще конференции не проводились в таком прекрасном месте».

UTIC-2016 посетили участники и докладчики из 11 стран: Украины, России, Беларуси, Израиля, Польши, Румынии, Италии, Испании, Люксембурга, США и даже Индии, тем самым сделав ее по-настоящему международной.

Первые участники UTICamp прибыли в Днепр (бывший Днепропетровск) в пятницу, 10 июня, чтобы отправиться на увлекательную экскурсию по городу. Гости «космической столицы Украины», как часто называют Днепр, познакомились с ее историческими, культурными и научными достопримечательностями, новым архитектурным стилем города и знаменитыми фонтанами.

В пятницу днем также состоялся тренинг Елены Чудновской «Перевод как образ жизни. Нелингвистические навыки устного переводчика». Участники тренинга обсудили этику профессиональных отношений, взаимодействие с заказчиками, международные стандарты и даже голосовую гигиену — важный аспект для каждого устного переводчика.

Вечером все собрались в «Метеорите» на приветственный фуршет, чтобы пообщаться с коллегами, насладиться напитками, закусками, а также великолепным закатом на берегу реки Самары.

Официальная часть программы UTIC-2016 началась на церемонии открытия конференции. С приветственным словом первым выступил Станислав Каленюк, генеральный директор компании «ИнТекст» — организатора конференции UTIC. Станислав поблагодарил участников и модераторов за поддержку мероприятия и пожелал всем коллегам провести время с пользой и получить массу удовольствия.

Приветственные речи также произнесли представители компаний — спонсоров конференции: Леонид Глазычев, генеральный директор компании Logrus IT, Светлана Светова, руководитель компании «Т-Сервис» и модератор секции «Технологии перевода и локализация», Виктория Алексеенко, представитель Language Solutions Pro, Елена Кирсанова, директор переводческой компании Aspect, а также Татьяна Струк, руководитель компании «Лингвистический центр» и модератор секции «Искусство перевода», и Ханс Фенстермахер, операционный директор компании United Language Group и модератор секции «Бизнес перевода».

Во время церемонии открытия Ханс Фенстермахер также выступил с докладом, посвященным навыкам и компетенциям работников переводческой отрасли, которые требовались вчера, необходимы сегодня и понадобятся в будущем. Затем тему поддержал Киммо Росси, руководитель сектора исследований и инноваций отдела G.3 Data Value Chain Европейской комиссии. Он рассказал о будущем перевода и о месте технологий в этом будущем.

Марко Тромбетти, руководитель компании Translated, посвятил свою речь системам машинного перевода и рассказал, почему машины не могут и не должны полностью заменить людей.

В первый день конференции также состоялась сессия обмена контактами — специальное мероприятие, во время которого участники знакомились друг с другом в группах, обменивались визитками и обсуждали возможности сотрудничества. Все посетившие биржу контактов приняли участие в розыгрыше билета на следующую конференцию UTIC. Счастливых победителей оказалось сразу двое: ими стали докладчики потока «Искусство перевода», молодые переводчики художественной литературы Анатолий Питык и Екатерина Грицайчук.

Центральное место на территории UTICamp заняла зона выставки, где компании и участники конференции разместили свои стенды. Среди экспонентов были компании Logrus, Language Solutions Pro, Crowdin, «Синхросервис», «ИнТекст», а также творческое объединение «Лоскутное одеяло», на стенде которого можно было приобрести одноименную книгу.


Программа конференции традиционно состояла из трех потоков: «Искусство перевода», «Бизнес перевода» и «Локализация и технологии перевода». В этом году общее количество докладов составило рекордную цифру: 36 докладов и 8 круглых столов и интерактивных сессий.

Иосиф Ковалёв,
переводчик-фрилансер, модератор потока «Искусство перевода»
«Поскольку формат новый, необычный, располагающий к более тесному общению, мы хотели сделать его более информативным и менее формальным. Так чтобы переводчики, которые приехали сюда, смогли унести с собой прямо отсюда какие-то полезные практичные знания, которые завтра же смогут применить на практике у себя дома».

Презентации докладчиков потока «Искусство» были посвящены работе переводчика в штате компании и в качестве фрилансера, устному и письменному переводу, переводу художественной литературы, переговоров, а также работе в международных организациях. Особенно порадовало слушателей обилие прикладных презентаций, в ходе которых все получили ценные советы, которые можно использовать в работе прямо сейчас.

Бесспорными лидерами по результатам опроса участников стали доклады «Рюкзак переводчика» (Вадим Кадыров, Вацлав Егурнов, Ирина Лебедева и Олеся Зайцева), а также «Отредактируй это, или Практическая редактура рекламно-маркетингового перевода с английского на русский» (Екатерина Филатова, Роман Булькевич).

Поток «Технологии перевода и локализация» в этом году был во многом посвящен качеству перевода и программам, которые помогают его обеспечить. Слушатели высоко оценили доклад Ольги Прокопчук и Марии Малыхиной, посвященный инструментам фрилансеров для эффективного ведения проектов, а также совместную презентацию компаний «Т-Сервис», «Палекс» и «ИнТекст», посвященную автоматическому контролю качества перевода. Не обошли вниманием респонденты и масштабный доклад Константина Дранча о том, как большие данные (Big Data) из облачных «кошек» могут повлиять на отрасль.

В секции «Бизнес перевода» докладчики рассказали об управлении переводческой компанией, продвижении компании и продажах, а также о подготовке кадров. Высшие баллы от участников получили презентации Юрия Цверкуна «Как заставить клиента заплатить больше» и Ханса Фенстермахера «Сколько стоит ваша компания?». В этом потоке было наибольшее количество круглых столов.

Традиционным завершением первого дня конференции стал гала-вечер, который прошел в ресторане на берегу реки. Гостей угощали разнообразными закусками и блюдами, приготовленными на мангале, а слух радовало пение профессиональных вокалистов, подготовивших специальную программу, также украшением вечера стали выступления самих участников конференции.

Представители компаний «ИнТекст» выступили с лирической украинской народной песней «Ой, у вишневому саду». Инициативу организаторов поддержали и участники конференции: Олег Рудавин, Вацлав Егурнов, Евгений Лобанов, Алексей Пылов и Леонид Мельников выступили с песней The House of the Rising Sun группы The Animals. И в завершении вечера прозвучала песня на хинди от Суман Ароры, переводчика из Индии.

Спонсор гала-вечера, компания «Т-Сервис» щедро раздавала участникам призы за участие в интеллектуальной викторине. Среди подарков были памятные футболки, флеш-накопители и даже лицензия на программу SDL Trados Studio 2015. А спонсоры Wi-Fi, разработчики программы Verifika, вручили участникам пять лицензий на свой продукт.

Необычный для отраслевых мероприятий формат позволил участникам взять с собой на конференцию супругов и детей. Чтобы родители могли полностью сосредоточиться на докладах и общении с коллегами, детьми занимались специалисты центра Little Beetle — партнеры UTICamp по организации анимации. В течение двух дней дети играли в развивающие игры, занимались спортом, рисовали и даже готовили несложные блюда.

На церемонии закрытия UTICamp был проведен традиционный заключительный розыгрыш билета на следующую конференцию. Победителем оказалась Ольга Романюк, переводчик-фрилансер из Львова. Еще три билета разыграл платиновый спонсор UTIC-2016 — компания Logrus. Их счастливыми обладателями стали Надежда Короляк из переводческой компании EOS, а также Алена Мовчан и Виталий Платковский, представители компании «Филин».

В ходе конференции мы проводили опрос об удовлетворенности ее организацией и получили ответы половины участников. Результаты опроса показали, что 6,58% участников оценили организацию конференции как хорошую и 93,42% оценили ее на «отлично». 71% опрошенных ответили, что уже приняли решение участвовать в следующей конференции, 7,63% выбрали ответ «возможно».

Марко Тромбетти,
CEO компании Translated
«Я не ожидал увидеть здесь такого высокого уровня знаний, такой приверженности работе. Я нашел много новых друзей, а также множество потенциальных коллег».

Организационный комитет UTIC выражает благодарность Елене Чудновской за организацию синхронного перевода на конференции и всей команде переводчиков-синхронистов: Алине Билушенко, Арине Лепетюх, Ирине Скопиной, Максиму Козубу, Евгению Лобанову, Анне Олейник, Виктории Мороз, Вадиму Ермоленко, Александре Яцыне, Александре Комаровой, Ольге Новиковой и Марине Минциковской. Отдельная благодарность Дмитрию Хрыжановскому, руководителю компании «Синхросервис», которая уже в третий раз обеспечивает техническую поддержку синхронного перевода мероприятий UTIC.

Смотрите официальный фотоотчет о конференции на Flickr

В течение 2015—2016 гг. команда UTIC организовывала вебинары с докладчиками UTIC и другими специалистами отрасли. Новая серия вебинаров началась 14-го июля — следите за анонсами на наших страницах в социальных сетях.

С августа текущего года раз в неделю мы будем публиковать на сайте конференции по одной видеозаписи докладов. Те, кто желает просмотреть все 44 доклада от ведущих специалистов отрасли уже сейчас, могут приобрести ранний доступ к видеоматериалам UTIC-2016. Для этого пишите на info@utic.eu.

Следующая конференция UTIC планируется на лето 2018 года. Организаторы рассматривают вариант недельного выезда на природу в формате UTICamp.